February 25, 2009

Bridal Makeup in America

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , at 3:21 am by Marigold

For those of you who’ve gotten married in America, what did you do for your hair and makeup needs for your wedding day? I’ve seen the job desi salons do here and it’s hideous, to say the least. I don’t trust desi salons here… what are some of the other options? Thanks!

Time or lack thereof

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:50 am by Marigold

I miss you guys. I really do. But I haven’t had this much to do in a long long time and as a consequence, I’m not much of a time manager. So I’ll divide my life into bullet marks below and give you the update I owe you.

1- I absolutely love my new major! I know it’s only the first semester but I know in my heart this is what I was meant to do.. everything is in Allah’s hands and He is the best of planners and the one thing I’ve learnt is not to plan to far ahead however, inshaAllah if all goes well, I’d love to do a PH.D. in Psychology and become a research Psychologist. I was a little perturbed by the long, arduous journey ahead and I was discussing the pains of it with my Professor and I asked her, “So basically I will be 35 by the time I’m done?” and she said a profoundly beautiful thing, she said, “Let’s look at it this way… you’ll be 35 anyway…” And immediately I went….. wow! (Actually, I’ll be 33, but still!)

2- As far as the iPhone update goes; my sweet, darling of a husband bought me a new one! I implored him not to but he went ahead and bought it anyway! Isn’t he the best? It’s not all peachy though because I’m always stressing about it and losing my breath every time I can’t spot it!!

3- Another iPhone update is that I’d actually filed a report with the campus police and the officer called me today and said he thinks he knows who has it and as soon as he gets it back, he’ll let me know!! This was early in the morning and quite woke me up! I later realized that he only think he knows who has it so it isn’t necessary that he will ever get it… what do you think? Also, when I asked him how he knew who had it, accompanied by the appropriate elation etc., he haughtily replied, what did I mean, ma’aam, he was just doing his job, that’s how!

4- I have an internal policy of keeping the best for last and this probably warrants it’s own post but I’m running out of time here so I’ll go ahead and announce it at number 4 that I’m now the proud Phupo (aunt) of a beautiful little girl! My SIL had an emergency C-section on 14th February and so we were blessed with a beautiful little princess who has stolen all our hearts and made some of us remember why we hate living so far away! Of course, I love her with all my heart and soul for her cuteness and the blood that ties us but one of the best things I love her for is that she has enbaled me to buy all those cute little pink things I always wanted to buy! May Allah bless her sweet little heart and protect her and be with her always. Amen!

That’s mostly it. There are another few minor annoucements but I will wait before they are confirmed, inshaAllah. Hold tight.